Our Mission

Intermodulation Products AB is dedicated to the research and development of intermodulation measurement and analysis techniques. The company emerged out of inventions made in the Section of Nanostructure Physics at the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Stockholm, Sweden. Our patented Intermodulation Lockin Amplifier (ImLA)™, also called Multifrequency Lock Amplifier (MLA)™, is a general purpose measurement system for probing both nonlinear and linear response at many frequencies, simultaneously. Our analysis algorithms are implemented in a software package for Intermodulation Atomic Force Microscopy (ImAFM)™, a patented technique for nanoscale surface analysis.

With our lockin and software you can transform a standard AFM in to a state-of-the-art surface analysis instrument. Consult with us on your measurement problems and analysis needs. Nonlinearity is our speciality. Your distortion is our signal


For questions and quotations, please email:


Mail address:

Intermodulation Products AB Landa Landavägen 4193 SE - 823 93 Segersta SWEDEN

Telephone: +46702455539


Chief Executive Officer

Dr. Erik A. Tholén received his PhD from KTH in 2009. His work on parametric amplification in nonliner superconducting resonant circuits lead to the development of Intermodulation AFM. His postdoctoral work centered on the develoment of the first Intermodulation Lockin Analyzer. He specializes in hardware and software development for Intermodulation Products AB.

Chief Technical Officer

Dr. Daniel Forchheimer received is PhD from KTH in 2015. He has worked extensively with analysis of intermodulation AFM data to extract physical parameters and enhance image contrast. He specializes in software development and sales for Intermodulation Products AB.

Member of the board

Dr. Daniel Platz recieved is PhD from KTH in 2013. His thesis was the first on Intermodulation AFM and it received a prize for best Physics PhD thesis in Sweden, 2013. He did postdoctoral work at the Max-Planck-Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems in Dresden, Germany. He is currently at TU Wien in Vienna, Austria.

Chairman of the board

Prof. David Haviland recieved his PhD in 1989 from the University of Minnesota, with postdoctoral studies at Chalmers. He is currently a professor of Nanostructure Physics at KTH, leading a reserach group that studies nonlinear oscillations in both classical and quantum systems. He is a member of the Swedish Royal Academy of sciences.